The Icy Barn Door

Well, it’s June, but it sure doesn’t feel like it! It’s been a fairly cold, rainy June so far in my part of the country. On the other hand, at least it isn’t wintery cold! I’m sharing a poem I wrote 3 years ago about a particularly icy winter we had, to try to make us grateful that it’s at least as warm as it is!

The Icy Barn DoorGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Hailstones pelt my face as I walk,
Endlessly across snow hard as a rock;
Angling my path to the top of the hill,
Pausing when wind blows so hard I stand still.
Barn lock is frozen, coated with ice,
Hammer’s over here, hit it twice;
Chipping ice away from the bolt and the edge,
Icicles so solid they’ve formed a wedge.
Barn door is finally open now,
Creaked jarringly wide with a cracking sound;
Wind blows door, almost pinning me inside,
Have to use all my strength to open it wide.
Pick up the hammer to de-ice the latch,
Pushing hard on the door when the wind tries to catch;
Finally get the barn door secured,
When the blizzard begins and whiteout obscures.

Leave a Reply

