Summer Pasture

We walked the horses over to Molly’s place for their summer pasture on Saturday night. I miss them already. <3 I get to sleep in a half hour later when I go to work early, but it’s sad not to see those welcoming faces with their ears pricked forward, kind eyes excitedly watching me while I prepare their feed every morning.

Now they have lots of grass. I try to visit them every day, and I’m hoping to ride Destiny again soon. I want her to get used to being away from Molly. Des never used to be particularly herd-bound, but since she met Molly, she doesn’t like to be away from her. When I ride her out of Molly’s sight, they both start calling to each other, Molly goes racing through the pasture, and Destiny wants to run too. She settles down after a while, but the procedure almost always repeats the next day I ride her. I want to get her focused  on me and used to being by herself so I can ride her on some trails near my house later in the summer when they come back home.

The farrier came yesterday to trim their hooves. I’m glad both of them are so good with their feet. They’re so easy to work with. xD We have to get the vet out soon too for their annual vaccinations. :)

Leave a Reply

