When the Wind Blows

Today I’m going to share a poem I wrote about 3 years ago. I was doing my schoolwork (I was homeschooled) one afternoon during a bad snowstorm, and I started writing a poem in my head. It’s about the isolation you feel at home in the countryside during a snowstorm like that, when the power is out and the wind is blowing snow around so much that you can’t see more than a foot in front of your face. It’s like the rest of the world is gone, and you’re just trying to survive the storm. :)

When the Wind Blows

When the wind blows
And snow flies away,
Signals the start
Of a brand new day.
Crashing, smashing,
Hurricane wind;
The last place on earth
Left to defend.
When the wind blows
And snow flies away,
I’m lost in the darkness,
Forced to stay.

Leave a Reply

