Horsehair Bracelets

On April 19, 2011, I made a bracelet from some strands of Destiny’s mane. I was very proud of myself — ever since reading the Phantom Stallion book series by Terri Farley when I was much younger, I had wanted to make a horsehair bracelet of my own. I wore it every day for a long time. At some point, I took it off because I was worried it would get broken or destroyed somehow. I kept it in a little box so I wouldn’t lose it.

A few weeks ago, I was trying to find it but couldn’t. I couldn’t remember where I had left it. But yesterday I was reading my old journal, and I found the place where I was talking about making it. I am wearing it now, and plan to keep it for the rest of my life, I had written. So I started looking again, and I finally found it right where I left it. I had used the box to prop up some books on the uppermost shelf of my bookcase.

horse-hair-bracelet

It’s nothing fancy, but I was proud of myself anyway and it meant the world to have a piece of Destiny with me at all times. <3

I guess if you want to find something bad enough, you will. Has anyone else wanted to make a horsehair bracelet after reading these books? I wish I could have braided this one or at least made it better somehow but I was still happy with it. :) I used just four strands of hair, tied knots in it at a few points to keep them more or less together, then made a loop at one end so I could tie it into a circle. Maybe someday I’ll braid one and use more hair, but until I figure out how to do that, this one suits me just fine!

2 comments

  1. Ooooo! Wow! That’s awesome! I’ve always wanted a horsehair bracelet, but was never sure how to make one… so I never did. Now I wish desperately I had a couple strands of Coaly’s tail so I could learn to make one. *sighs* But I’ll definitely make sure I have some from the next horse. :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! Yes, you definitely should! It took me a few tries to get the hang of it, and it’s nothing fancy, but I was determined! At least I can wear it, and it makes me happy, so I really can’t complain! I’d like to learn to braid one though. I think it would look much better braided.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

