To the positive people who come through my cash,

Thank you for being so caring and thoughtful. Until you’ve worked in customer service, you couldn’t possibly understand how infectious customers’ moods are and how much they affect your own. If everyone who went through my line was glum and dejected, I’d be feeling pretty dismal myself by the end of the day. But when someone comes through who is upbeat and cheerful, I find myself smiling and my mood lifts considerably. It makes my day. It makes my job worth it.

I’ve always thought to myself, if I can make one person smile today, or at least make their day a little better by being friendly and positive, then I’ve done my job. That’s the way I see it, and that’s what I tell myself when I get out of bed in the morning. When people treat me the same way, it shows me that there is hope in this world. There are some really amazing people out there, and maybe they don’t even realize how much of a difference the little things they do can make.

I don’t expect anyone to be so happy they’re bouncing off the walls, beaming like a kid on Christmas–though I wouldn’t say I’ve never seen it. In fact, I don’t expect anything at all. The truth is, sometimes it’s hard not to be sad. I don’t know what’s going on in people’s lives. But if you can find it within yourself to smile and be as pleasant as possible, you don’t know how much of a difference it makes to the person serving you. And to the people who do that, from the depths of my heart, thank you. YOU help make the world a better place.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

