Hanging by a Thread

Interesting story. So yesterday, I got a bit stuck climbing up a cliff. I made it about halfway up, and then a rock fell out from under my foot, making it nearly impossible to climb down. I have to admit, it was downright scary there for a while, holding onto a rock lodged underneath a larger, sturdy rock. I was under the overhang of that large rock, safe enough but still not where I would like to be. Malachi went back to the four wheeler to get rope, then tied it around a big tree at the top of the cliff and tossed the end down to me. I wasn’t entirely sure whether the rope would work, or if I would even have the strength left to pull myself up if the slope proved to be steeper than I thought it was. Luckily, however, it was an easy climb once I caught the end of the rope, and I was able to pull myself up to safety. In the end, climbing up the rope was actually pretty fun. Not that I would do it again. It just goes to show, just because it looks like you can do something, does not mean you should! One miscalculation almost got me in a really bad situation.

IMG_0313

We went back today, and I took a photo (above) of the cliff from below–and no, I did not attempt to climb it this time. It doesn’t look as bad as it is (or maybe it does, I don’t know).

After that, we returned to the geocache I mentioned in my other post, Don’t Pet the Bumblebee. This time we brought a pen, so we finally got to sign our names in it! My mom joined us for the adventure this time too.

Have you ever done something stupid and regretted it?

Leave a Reply

