“Learn to Drive a Standard”

The first thing on my list of 21 Things To Do Before I Turn 21 is “learn to drive a standard car.” Well, meet my new car. It’s a 2002 Toyota Corolla, and yes, it’s a standard. Maybe not the fanciest car you’ve ever seen, but it drives well and is pretty great for the year and the price.

I did actually drive it today. I wouldn’t exactly say I’m really great at driving a stick shift, but I did get us moving on my first try, so I guess maybe I’m not Canada’s worst driver? ;D (I then proceeded to stall it several times after slowing down for a crossing rabbit, and now usually end up sending gravel flying up from under the tires, but nobody needs to know that…) For someone who has never driven anything with a clutch, this is very much a learning experience. Luckily, I still have “CLUTCH AND BRAKE!” drilled into my head from when I watched my brother learning to drive his dirt bike. I definitely need more practice, but I’m also definitely improving and I have lots of time! :) I’ll get more practice tomorrow for sure.

Leave a Reply

