Sticks and stones may break my bones…

I always say that when you’re driving a four wheeler, and when your hand is at just the wrong position on the handlebars, and you go over a bump, the bounce could break your hand. Maybe that is not so far off.

My brother and I went four wheeling yesterday. All was well until we decided to explore random side trails. On one, there were deep, deep, narrow ruts on each side of an elevated portion of the road. I was headed straight between them, and they were coming up fast. I hardly had time to think, but then I realized the four wheeler was too wide to fit. I started to brake but it was too late. The left tires hit the rut. I lost control of the steering, and we bounced around for a couple of seconds (the handlebar hit me in the side as the tires turned into the rut, but not hard enough to leave a mark) before coming to a stop. When I lost my grip, and especially since my thumb was out on the throttle (“gas button” as I fondly call it), the steadiness of my hand must have caused it to be hit by the bouncing of the handlebars. Good thing we weren’t going faster, or I would have been thrown for sure!

I was fine, just in a bit of pain, so I drove the rest of the trip. We went on several bumpy trails, which hurt. A lot. Steering to the right was extremely difficult. But I drove for the next 3 or so hours. When we got home, I realized exactly how weak my right hand actually was, and started using my left for, well, everything. But after supper, I realized my wrist was suddenly swelling up badly.

Went to the hospital, got X-rays. There were no obvious breaks, but this particular bone may not show up right away and it’s important. So, for the meantime, I’m in a cast and in quite a bit of pain. Going back in 10 days for a re-check and, if it is broken, something more permanent. So, for today, I haven’t been able to use my right hand at all, so the cast can harden properly. Tomorrow I should be able to use it a bit (as long as I can actually move my thumb within the cast…), which will hopefully make typing and maybe even writing easier. I hope. That would also help when I go back to the library on Thursday and have to shelf books.

How am I going to ride!? Somehow I’m going to have to figure out how to ride a horse–who doesn’t neckrein–with one hand. It’s my right hand, too, that’s in a cast. Writing is virtually impossible. Typing isn’t, but it’s not easy, and very slow. Not to mention my left arm is sore from using it so much. I had to steer almost entirely with that arm toward the end of the trip, and my bike doesn’t have power steering. Good thing my car isn’t a stick shift…

I’m staying optimistic, but if the bone is broken, I’m going to have a very hard time living with a cast for the next few months. I could hardly make it through today…lol. I am definitely not the type of person who can simply lay off using a hand. There are things I actually do need to do but apparently my wrist simply doesn’t care about the life of a country girl! As a friend of mine once said, “Horses and four wheelers: a deadly combination”! I mean that in the best, most incredibly amazing way, of course.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

